Deletion of GL accounts during the year-end close process

In Dynamics GP when users run the general ledger year-end close some GL accounts may be deleted if the following criteria is met.

• No balance
• No activity for an open period
• No account history amounts
• Not part of an allocation account
• Not part of an unposted transaction
• No multicurrency data
• No transaction history records

However, I found it can be a variable allocation account.  One Dynamics GP customer uses FastPath for security as well as to track GL account deletions and the accounting manager showed up on a deletion report when she doesn’t have access to the account or unit account maintenance windows.  This caused a real problem during a sox audit.  I restored data before the year-end close and I verified the accounts were deleted during the GL close process and I found the support document below.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2452542

This entry was posted in Dynamics GP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *